Learning to Love My Body

tumblr_mb1dcrzT901qfdwsio1_500

I watched a video not too long ago. It was a video of a woman who hated her body. To motivate herself to lose weight, she entered herself into a bikini contest and got into the best shape of her life. Problem was, after she hit her goal, SHE STILL HATED HER BODY. She picked herself apart until one day she realized — she was perfect just the way she was!

0650280744c3dfe34df91102aaac5bba

That video hit home with me. I was crying before 8:00 in the morning. I am who this woman used to be. I loathe my body. All I see in the mirror is that I’m no longer 125 pounds and thin and “perfect.” I look in the mirror and think I’m “frumpy and lumpy and fat.”
image

This video really helped open my eyes.

It made me think back to just the other night, my husband standing there staring at me with this little smile on his face. I asked him, “What are you looking at?” And he says to me, “You have the most beautiful body. I love looking at you.”

The funny thing is, I look back at pictures of me ‘then’ and I like me better now! I am a Mommy, this body has given me two miracles. And the man who looks at me every day with that “I love you” look in his eyes, he thinks I am perfect. So, I guess I am.

I am doing what I can to get my motivation back! You can read the rest of this article on SkinnyMom.com

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Leave a Reply

